Tag Archives: Board Members

Minnesota Citizens for the Arts Accepting Board Nominations

Nominations for MCA’s Board Now Open

Minnesota Citizens for the Arts is looking for new Greater Minnesota members for their Board of Trustees. Terms begin December, 2017 and will last for two years.

What makes the arts strong in Minnesota? We have great, talented artists. We have world class museums and orchestras. We have thriving arts communities in every corner of the state. And we have a higher level of arts participation than most of the country. Minnesota Citizens for the Arts is a statewide, grassroots political organization that works to increase support for the arts in our state. MCA lobbies the legislature and congress on behalf of the non-profit arts and also produce research to support arts advocacy.  MCA created and passed the arts portion of the Legacy Amendment with many legislative partners that now funds the arts across Minnesota. Learn more at www.artsMN.org and www.creativeMN.org.

The full MCA Board meets four times a year in addition to holding an annual Arts Advocacy Day at the State Capitol in St. Paul. All members serve on committees that meet primarily by phone.

Interested? Fill out the form below and return it by November 14, 2017 by email, fax, or by snail mail to the address below. MCA’s bylaws ensure that board representation comes from all over the state. Half of MCA’s 36 board members must come from the Twin Cities metro area, and half from Greater Minnesota. Two current openings on the MCA Board include:  One opening for a metro based nonprofit arts organization representative, and one greater Minnesota at large representative. Other openings may occur.


MCA seeks board members who:

  • Have mix of party affiliation, and provide balance in terms of the size or type of organizations represented on the board (large, medium, small, arts education, individual artist, etc.)
  • Provide other balances in terms of representing the state or the arts community (ie diversity in terms of age, race, etc).
  • Are people with political connections, political strategists, and people with an understanding of the political process, or are willing to learn.
  • Have clout within their organizations and/or peers, and have the ability and willingness to communicate about the need for arts advocacy.
  • Have a willingness to work, volunteer and join at  meetings.

FYI, your nomination to the board is more likely to be successful if you are a paid member of MCA and if you have previously been a part of Arts Advocacy Day, the Legacy campaign, or volunteered for the cause in some other way.
***(Please do not nominate someone else unless you have discussed it with them first, and they have provided an answer to the question “Why do you want to be on the MCA board?).***

Successful applicants will be notified in November, 2017.

For further information, please download the Board of Directors Nominations Form and feel free to contact them with any questions at (651) 251-0868 or Staff@artsmn.org.

Become A Board Member!

Becoming a Northwest Minnesota Arts Council board member is a rewarding experience!  You get to meet great people!  You find out more about grants and all the great activities that are happening in our area!  You feel like you are making a difference in the Arts!

That’s what our board members have to say and we are looking for a few more people to join our team.

Board members can serve up to two, three year terms.  Our board consists of two members each for our seven counties of Kittson, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, and Roseau plus two at-large representatives from our northwestern area of Minnesota.

Here is a list of our current board members.  Vacancies that we would like to fill by December 1 are for Pennington, Norman, Red Lake Counties and one at-large position.  The nomination form link and more on becoming a board member>>

Here are our current board members listed by when their term expires.  Thanks for your continued service and quality decisions!


  • Connie Nelson of Hallock (renewable)
  • Kay Rosengren of Hallock
  • Aliza Olson of Roseau
  • Angie Peterson of Greenbush (renewable)
  • Barb Geer of Middle River


  • Bruce Reeves of Red Lake Falls
  • Deanna Swendseid of Stephen
  • Mary Ann Laxen of East Grand Forks (renewable)
  • Jennifer Bakken-Brees of rural Fertile (renewable)


  • Faye Auchenpaugh of Thief River Falls
  • Charles Erickson of Roseau
  • Eryn Killough of Crookston