Award Winners

The Northwest Minnesota Arts Council gives up to three awards each year.  This is based on the nominations that are received.  Our Northwest Artist of the Year award honors one artist that has been especially busy within their artform lately.  Our Northwest Arts Advocate of the Year award honors someone who keeps being a voice and advocate for arts within community or local school or the region.  These awards are $500.00 cash.    

The Northwest Star Artist award started in 2013 to recognize one individual in our region for lifelong achievement.  This award is a substantial $5,000 cash award with McKnight Foundation funding.

Awards are only given if qualified individuals are nominated.  We were not always able to fund three awards.

“Northwest Star Artist” Winner List:  Lifetime achievement award

  • 2014 Northwest Star Artist: LaVonne Forsberg, Thief River Falls, devotion and dedication to the arts
  • 2013 Northwest Star Artist: Jane Anderson, Thief River Falls in theater and singing

“Of the Year” Award Winner List

  • 2014 Arts Advocate: KayDell Super, Middle River
  • 2014 Artist: Jessica Pribula, East Grand Forks, textiles
  • 2013 Arts Advocate: Ric Sorenson, Fosston for multi-disciplinary art
  • 2012 Artist:  Nick Rietzel, Karlstad for visual art
  • 2012 Arts Advocate: Bob Wenzel, Warroad for performing art
  • 2011 Artist:  Sister Norma Jean Eide, Crookston for visual art
  • 2011 Arts Advocate: Anita Poss, East Grand Forks for multi-disciplinary art
  • 2010 Artist: Frances Karlsson, formerly of Roseau for visual art
  • 2010 Artist: Jean Ranstrom, Alvarado for visual art
  • 2009 Artist: Gary Stegman, Crookston for visual art
  • 2009 Arts Advocate: Honey Olson, Ada for visual art
  • 2008 Artist:  Bernie Wilebski, Kennedy for visual art
  • 2008 Arts Advocate:  Annette Hermansen of Roseau
  • 2007 Artist: Robin and Lorrie Foster of Red Lake Falls for pottery
  • 2007 Arts Advocate: LeRoy Hoekstra formerly of Kennedy for performing art
  • 2006 Artist: Audrey Sandal formerly of Lake Bronson for visual art
  • 2005 Artist: Gene Lysaker of Twin Valley for visual art
  • 2003 Artist:  Brent Radeke of Argyle for performing art
  • 2003 Arts Advocate:  Dr. James Thomasson of Mentor
  • 2002 Artist: Larry Damico of East Grand Forks for performing arts
  • 2002 Arts Advocate: Elwyn Ruud of Karlstad


Serving Artists and Arts Organizations