Here is some information to help you get started!
MNsure Contact Center
Toll-free Contact Center Line:
Contact Center Hours:
Monday – Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Saturday – Sunday: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Wednesday, December 24: Open 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Thursday, December 25: Closed
Wednesday, December 31: Open 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, January 1: Closed
When Does My Coverage Start?
Open enrollment begins November 15, 2014, and ends February 15, 2015. When your coverage begins depends on when you complete your enrollment. The table below shows when your qualified health plan from a private insurance company would go into effect:
|For a plan selected:||The effective date of coverage is:|
|On November 15, 2014 through December 20 at 4:30 p.m., 2014||January 1, 2015|
|On December 21, 2014 through January 15, 2015||February 1, 2015|
|On January 16, 2015 through February 15, 2015||March 1, 2015|
|Open enrollment ends on February 15, 2015|
MinnesotaCare and Medical Assistance
- If you qualify for MinnesotaCare, your coverage will start on the first of the month following the month you applied.
- If you qualify for Medical Assistance, your coverage will start on the first of the month in which you applied.
What Happens if I Don’t Get Covered?
It is currently the law for most Americans to have health insurance coverage. If you are required to get health insurance coverage and do not do so, you will be subject to a tax penalty, which increases over time.
- In 2014, the tax penalty was the greater of $95 per adult, or 1% of taxable income, up to a maximum of $285 per family.
- Starting in 2015, the tax penalty will be the greater of $325 per adult, or 2% of taxable income, up to a maximum of $975 per family.
- In 2016, the tax penalty will be the greater of $695 per adult or 2.5% of taxable income, up to a maximum of $2,085 per family.
- After 2016, the tax penalty increases annually based on a cost-living adjustment.
A person will only pay one-twelfth of the total annual penalty for each month without coverage. The penalty for a child is half that of an adult.
It is important to remember that even if you pay the penalty, you still won’t have any health insurance coverage, and will be responsible for 100% of the cost of your medical care.
There are some exceptions to the requirement for having health coverage. Find information about exemptions here.